Login access is only available to associates and administrative staff.

ITIL Continual Service Improvement

You are here

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) has become the de-facto best practice standard for the provision of high quality IT services worldwide. It provides guidance to customers of Information Technology services on what they should demand, and for IT organizations the various publications identify what should be provided and how to maximize efficiency and effectiveness.

The Office of the Government Commerce commissioned a program to review the best practice framework in 2005. The result was the launch of five core books in May 2007, referred to as ITIL® V3, for the practice of Service Management in Information Technology.

The 3-day ITIL® V3 Continual Service Improvement (CSI) course is an independent certification and also prepares the candidate for the Managing Across the Lifecycle and ITIL® Expert certifications. This course covers all the initiatives required to align and to re-align services and processes to meet business objectives and goals.

You will gain detailed knowledge of the contents of the ITIL® V3 Continual Service Improvement publication. The lectures and exercises in this class will provide you with both the information that you need and practice in applying the important CSI principles. During this course we will explore what is required to establish a framework for continual improvements as transformational improvements have not been successful in the last few decades.

Learning Objectives

Participants will gain practical skills in the following areas:

  • Introduction to Continual Service Improvement
  • Continual Service Improvement Principles
  • Continual Service Improvement Process
  • Continual Service Improvement Methods and Techniques
  • Organization for Continual Service Improvement
  • Technology for Continual Service Improvement
  • Implementation Considerations
  • Critical success factors and risks


Who Should Attend

The Continual Service Improvement course is appropriate for individuals who:

  • Chief Information Officers (CIOs), Chief Technology Officers (CTOs)
  • Managers, Supervisory staff and Team leaders
  • Service designers, IT architects, IT planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, IT security managers, Service test managers and ITSM trainers
  • Individuals who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL® Continual Service Improvement phase of the ITIL® core Lifecycle and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization
  • IT professionals working within or about to enter a Continual Service Improvement environment and requiring a detailed understanding of the processes, functions and activities involved
  • Individuals seeking the ITIL® Expert in IT Service Management for which this qualification is one of the prerequisite modules
  • Individuals seeking progress towards the ITIL® Master in IT Service Management for which the ITIL® Expert is a prerequisite
  • This may include but is not limited to, IT professionals, business managers and business process owners



This qualification is only available to candidates who hold the V3 Foundation or Foundation Bridge Certificate in IT Service Management.


At the end of the course, participants’ will write the ITIL® Intermediate in Continual Service Improvement examination and delegates are required to score 70% to be awarded ITIL® Intermediate Certificate in Continual Service Improvement.


You will receive a course binder containing copies of presentation slides, case studies, exercises, suggested solutions and practice exams.

What You Will Learn

Introduction to CSI

  • Fundamental aspects of Continual Service Improvement
  • Service Gap Model
  • Service Improvement Programme
  • 7-Step Improvement process
  • Processes and service lifecycle stages that interface with CSI
  • Critical success factors and risks


Continual Service Improvement Principles

  • Fundamental aspects of Continual Service Improvement
  • Importance of Service Level Management
  • Deming Cycle
  • Givernance


7-Step Improvement Process

  • Process activities
  • Interactions with other lifecycle stages
  • Types of metrics
  • Technology Domain Vs Service Domain to CSI


CSI Methods and Techniques

  • Service improvement frameworks and models
  • Availability and problem management techniques
  • Capacity management techniques
  • Benchmarking, balance score card, SWOTs - tools for improvement


Organization for CSI

  • Designing, implementing and populating RACI
  • Roles and responsibilities in CSI
  • Service Manager
  • Continual Service Improvement Manager
  • Service Owner


Technology and implementation of CSI

  • Technology and tools
  • Implementation considerations
  • Challenges of a large CSI group


Wrap up, mock and exam

course info

Course ID: SO-6102
Course Level: Intermediate
Duration: 3 days

upcoming sessions

Session Not Found


PMI Talent TriangleThe following table provides the breakdown of the professional development units (PDUs) for this course aligned with the PMI Talent TriangleTM.

  Tech. Ldrshp. Strat. & Bus.
PMP 17 0 4
PgMP 17 0 4
PfMP 0 0 4
PMI-ACP 0 0 4
PMI-SP 0 0 4
PMI-RMP 0 0 4
PMI-PBA 0 0 4

The three columns in the above table are Technical Project Management, Leadership, and Strategic & Business Management.

Other Credits

Other professional (re)certification credits are available, including:

  • Certified Business Analyst Professionals (CBAPs) earn 21CDUs (Category 2B)
  • Certified Software Quality Engineers (CSQEs) earn 3 RU
  • CIPS Information Systems Professionals (ISPs) earn 21 Learning Credits
  • CIPS Information Technology Certified Professional (ITCPs) earn 21 Learning Credits