Login access is only available to associates and administrative staff.

ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle

You are here

The 5-day ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle course is an independent certification and is the final module in the ITIL Expert certification. This course covers managerial issues such as control systems. relationships between IT, Suppliers and Customer Business Units, and service assessment. A major component of the course will ensure that candidates can identify, justify and analyze the components of Strategic Change such as business value creation, risk management, resource and capability planning, and quality control. Another important part of this course will help the participants reach decisions on key implementation considerations such as organizational design and communication.


At the end of the course, participants’ will write the ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle examination on which delegates are required to score 70% to be awarded ITIL V3 Managing Across the Lifecycle Certificate. Successful candidates who have met all requirements will also receive the ITIL Expert in Service Management designation.

Learning Objectives

Participants will gain practical skills in the following areas:

  • Service Management Business and Managerial Issues
  • Planning and Implementation of IT Service Management
  • Strategic Change and Risk Management
  • Service Assessment
  • Complementary Industry Guidance


Who Should Attend

The ITIL Managing Through the Lifecycle course is appropriate for individuals who:

  • Require a business / management level of understanding of the ITIL Service management principles.
  • Need a deep understanding of how to implement ITSM in order to enhance the quality of IT Service provision.
  • Are seeking an ITIL Expert certification in order to gain the benefits of ITIL principles throughout their organization.
  • Are seeking an ITIL Advanced Level certification.
  • May include but is not limited to, CIOs, Senior IT Managers, IT Managers and Supervisors, IT professionals and IT Operation practitioners.



This qualification is only available to candidates who already hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (2 credits from the V3 Foundation or V2 Foundation plus Bridge Certificate) and have obtained a further 15 credits (a total of at least 17 credits) as a minimum from a balanced selection of ITIL Service Lifecycle or Service Capability qualifications. Documentary evidence of this must be presented to gain admission to this certification level.


You will receive a course binder containing copies of presentation slides, case studies, exercises, suggested solutions and practice exams from the Information Systems Examination Board (ISEB).

What You Will Learn

Business and Management Issues

  • Transition to IT Service Management
  • The Business / IT Relationship
  • Managing ITSM planning and implementation
  • Service assessment and monitoring


Managing Strategic Change

  • Business Benefits, Business Value, benefit realization
  • Critical Success Factors
  • Resource and Capability planning including costing and budgeting


Managing Strategic Change

  • Customer liaison, relationship management, and value nets / chains.
  • Terminating Services


Risk Management

  • Risk identification, evaluation, transfer, and corrective actions
  • Provider, market, supplier, and contract risks
  • Design and operational risks Organizational Factors
  • Challenges, structure, knowledge management, and governance.


Complimentary Guidance

course info

Course ID: SO-6150
Course Level: Advanced
Duration: 5 days

upcoming sessions

Session Not Found


PMI Talent TriangleThe following table provides the breakdown of the professional development units (PDUs) for this course aligned with the PMI Talent TriangleTM.

  Tech. Ldrshp. Strat. & Bus.
PMP 5 0 30
PgMP 5 0 30
PfMP 0 0 30
PMI-ACP 0 0 30
PMI-SP 1.5 0 30
PMI-RMP 1.25 0 30
PMI-PBA 0 0 30

The three columns in the above table are Technical Project Management, Leadership, and Strategic & Business Management.

Other Credits

Other professional (re)certification credits are available, including:

  • Certified Business Analyst Professionals (CBAPs) earn 35CDUs (Category 2B)
  • Certified Software Quality Engineers (CSQEs) earn 5 RU
  • CIPS Information Systems Professionals (ISPs) earn 35 Learning Credits
  • CIPS Information Technology Certified Professional (ITCPs) earn 35 Learning Credits