Login access is only available to associates and administrative staff.

ITIL Service Strategy

You are here

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) has become the de-facto best practice standard for the provision of high quality IT services worldwide. It provides guidance to customers of Information Technology services on what they should demand, and for IT organizations the various publications identify what should be provided and how to maximize efficiency and effectiveness.

The Office of the Government Commerce commissioned a program to review the best practice framework in 2005. The result was the launch of five core books in May 2007, referred to as ITIL® V3, for the practice of Service Management in Information Technology.

The 3-day ITIL® V3 Service Strategy course is an independent certification and also prepares the candidate for the Managing Across the Lifecycle and ITIL® Expert certifications. This course covers strategy principles, defining services and market spaces, conducting strategic assessments, strategy processes and interfaces, critical success factors and risks.

Learning Objectives

Participants will gain practical skills at an analytical level in the following areas:

  • Service Strategy Principles
  • Defining services and market spaces
  • Conducting Strategic Assessments
  • Financial Management
  • Service Portfolio Management
  • Managing demand
  • Driving strategy through the Service Lifecycle
  • Understanding Critical Success Factors and risks


Who Should Attend

The main target group includes, but is not limited to CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, IT security managers and ITSM trainers involved in the ongoing management, coordination and integration of strategy activities.


This qualification is only available to candidates who hold the V3 Foundation or Foundation Bridge Certificate in IT Service Management.


At the end of the course, participants’ will write the ITIL® Intermediate Certificate Exam in Service Strategy, and delegates are required to score 70% to be awarded the Intermediate Certificate in Service Strategy.


You will receive a course binder containing copies of presentation slides, case studies, exercises, suggested solutions and practice exams.

What You Will Learn

Service Strategy Principles

  • Value-creation
  • Service assets - capabilities and resources
  • Service provider types
  • Service model dynamics
  • Strategic perspectives, plans, positions and patterns


Defining Services and Market Spaces

  • Services, customer outcomes, service assets, utility and warranty elements
  • Business outcomes of customers
  • Market spaces


Conducting Strategic Assessments

  • Strategic assets and performance potential
  • Critical Success Factors and alignment of services, capabilities and strategies
  • Business potential within existing customers and market spaces


Service Strategy Processes

  • Financial Management
  • Service Portfolio Management
  • Demand Management


Service Strategy Interfaces

  • Service Lifecycle interfaces with Service Strategy
  • Service Design policies and constraints
  • Service Transition requirements
  • Service Catalogue tactical plans
  • Continual Service Improvement opportunities


Service Strategy Critical Success Factors and Risk

  • The role of organization development and sourcing
  • Automation and tools
  • Benefits and risks
  • Risk management


Wrap Up, Mock and Exam

course info

Course ID: SO-6105
Course Level: Intermediate
Duration: 3 days

upcoming sessions

Session Not Found


PMI Talent TriangleThe following table provides the breakdown of the professional development units (PDUs) for this course aligned with the PMI Talent TriangleTM.

  Tech. Ldrshp. Strat. & Bus.
PMP 0 0 21
PgMP 0 0 21
PfMP 0 0 21
PMI-ACP 0 0 21
PMI-SP 0 0 21
PMI-RMP 0 0 21
PMI-PBA 0 0 21

The three columns in the above table are Technical Project Management, Leadership, and Strategic & Business Management.

Other Credits

Other professional (re)certification credits are available, including:

  • Certified Business Analyst Professionals (CBAPs) earn 21CDUs (Category 2B)
  • Certified Software Quality Engineers (CSQEs) earn 3 RU
  • CIPS Information Systems Professionals (ISPs) earn 21 Learning Credits
  • CIPS Information Technology Certified Professional (ITCPs) earn 21 Learning Credits