Login access is only available to associates and administrative staff.

ITIL Service Transition

You are here

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) has become the de-facto best practice standard for the provision of high quality IT services worldwide. It provides guidance to customers of Information Technology services on what they should demand, and for IT organizations the various publications identify what should be provided and how to maximize efficiency and effectiveness.

The 3-day ITIL V3 Transition Course is an independent certification and also prepares the candidate for the Managing Across the Lifecycle and ITIL Expert certifications. This course covers Transition processes, common activities, technology, organization, and implementation issues.

You will gain detailed knowledge of the contents of the ITIL V3 Service Transition publication. The lectures and exercises in this class will provide you with both the information that you need and practice in applying the important Service Transition principles. During this course we will explore the details of managing transition in an Information Technology organization. We'll cover Best Practice methodologies aimed at ensuring your understanding all of the principles, processes, and activities necessary to ensure smooth entry of new or changed products into production.

The partner Capability course, Release, Control and Validation, provides more detailed information on the design of Service Transition activities to ensure that they support the overall Service Lifecycle.

Learning Objectives

Participants will gain practical skills in the following areas:

  • Service Transition Principles
  • Service Transition Processes and activities
  • Service Transition organization and roles
  • Technology for Service Transition
  • Implementing Service Transition
  • Understanding and analyzing Challenges, Critical Success Factors and Risks


Who Should Attend

The ITIL V3 Service Operation course is appropriate for individuals who:

  • Require a detailed understanding of Service Transition principles, Processes, and activities.
  • Are working in, or about to enter, an IT Service Transition environment.
  • Require a detailed understanding of ITIL Service Transition.
  • Are seeking an ITIL Expert certification in order to gain the benefits of ITIL principles throughout their organization.
  • Are seeking an ITIL Advanced Level certification.



This qualification is only available to candidates who hold the V3 Foundation or Foundation Bridge Certificate in IT Service Management.


At the end of the course, participants’ will write the ITIL V3 Service Operation examination and delegates are required to score 70% to be awarded ITIL V3 Service Operation Certificate.


You will receive a course binder containing copies of presentation slides, case studies, exercises, suggested solutions and practice exams.

What You Will Learn

The Lifecycle Phase: Service Transition

  • Key Principles in Service Transition
  • Communications
  • Technology
  • Organization and Managing Organizational Change
  • Implementation


Processes in Service Transition

  • Service Asset and Configuration Management
  • Change Management
  • Release & Deployment Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Service Validation & Testing
  • Evaluation


Wrap Up, Mock and Exam

course info

Course ID: SO-6101
Course Level: Intermediate
Duration: 3 days

upcoming sessions

Session Not Found


PMI Talent TriangleThe following table provides the breakdown of the professional development units (PDUs) for this course aligned with the PMI Talent TriangleTM.

  Tech. Ldrshp. Strat. & Bus.
PMP 0 0 21
PgMP 0 0 21
PfMP 0 0 21
PMI-ACP 0 0 21
PMI-SP 0 0 21
PMI-RMP 0 0 21
PMI-PBA 0 0 21

The three columns in the above table are Technical Project Management, Leadership, and Strategic & Business Management.

Other Credits

Other professional (re)certification credits are available, including:

  • Certified Business Analyst Professionals (CBAPs) earn 21CDUs (Category 2B)
  • Certified Software Quality Engineers (CSQEs) earn 3 RU
  • CIPS Information Systems Professionals (ISPs) earn 21 Learning Credits
  • CIPS Information Technology Certified Professional (ITCPs) earn 21 Learning Credits